Can anyone point me to a study/paper that proves that having a common interface improves physicians’ decisions or improve health care safety?

Oct 11, 2008 at 5:05 PM

I am looking for help.

I am studying Health Informatics. For my graduation research I am looking into ways to improve computer interface for primary care physicians. Having a common interface just makes sense. But, you know academics need a “study” that proves it.

Coordinator
Oct 13, 2008 at 8:32 AM
Thanks for your interest in MSCUI.  I have asked our user experience team to look into your question
Coordinator
Dec 15, 2008 at 7:58 AM

Many thanks for your interest, and your patience. I don’t know of any specific studies (if someone does then also very eager to look at them), which speak directly to your query. I would not be surprised though if there were longitudinal studies currently underway which might look at this.

However, if I were looking for evidence to back up how common UI elements might benefit better decision-making, I would consider more basic studies which compared ranges of computer user interfaces which had disparate, versus common elements, looking for any differences in regard to learning and relearning, accuracy of understanding, and task performance times. (And I have to point out here, that patient safety is not always about task performance times).

And at risk of offering thoughts which you already have covered, I’d look to conducting primary research with your end-users (primary care physicians) if you are looking for specific ways to improve UI that they use (the usual user-centred design approach). Observing and interviewing them whilst they used their systems would yield insights as to how their systems could be improved. Hope this helps.

Dec 15, 2008 at 7:13 PM
Thank you for your response.